>  IPC Overview and Classification System   >  IPC Chronic Food Insecurity Classification

IPC Chronic Food Insecurity Classification

The IPC Chronic Food Insecurity (IPC CFI) classification provides invaluable information for decision makers that focuses on medium- and long-term objectives to decrease food insecurity, making IPC an inclusive classification system that informs both crisis mitigation and prevention as well as structural and developmental policies and programs. In particular, the IPC Chronic Food Insecurity classification provides:

  • Differentiation between severities of chronic food insecurity, which are differentiated by size and duration of gaps in quality (micro-nutrients) and quantity (energy) of dietary intake;
  • Estimations of population in different severity levels of persistent food insecurity, even in absence of exceptional circumstances;
  • Classification of areas in terms of severity of persistent food insecurity to which at least 20% of population falls; and
  • Identification of key drivers of chronic food insecurity

The IPC Chronic Food Insecurity is conducted according to the four functions of the IPC, including: 1) consensus building, 2) methodical evaluation, review and convergence of all evidence available against global thresholds, 3) strategic communication for action, and 4) quality assurance.

For more information>>

IPC Technical Manual Version 3.0

IPC Chronic Food Insecurity Classification

Upcoming Events
There are no related events planned at the moment.

Join our mailing list