>  Where & What   >  Asia   >  Nepal


Nepal was the first country that adopted the IPC as a food insecurity phase classification methodology in November 2006.

The NekSAP (Nepal Khadhya Surakshya Anugaman Pranali) is the in-country institutional home for IPC in Nepal, within the Ministry of Agriculture Development. Within that, a National level Technical Working group (TWG), with members from 25 organizations, has been set up by the IPC Asia Regional Project. District Food Security Networks (DFSNs) have been set up by NeKSAP in 72 out of 75 districts to represent the district level of the TWG.

NeKSAP/IPC Acute Food Insecurity analyses inform on policy processes, programmes and resource allocation mechanisms such as the NEKSAP framework document, implementation guidelines and procedural guidelines. The main users (e.g. decision-makers) of NeKSAP/IPC in the country/region are Government Agencies (National Planning Commission (NPC), Ministry of Agriculture Development (MOAD), Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development (MOFALD), District Agriculture Development Offices (DADO), and others) and development and humanitarian agencies such as the European Union, SDC, USAID, DFID, FAO, WFP, UNICEF, Practical Action, Oxfam, CARE, INF, and Nepal Red Cross).

Country contacts

Duaa Sayed
IPC Regional Coordinator for Asia
FAO-UN FAO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (FAO RAP)
39 Phra Athit Road, Phranakorn District, Bangkok 10200,Thailand
[email protected]

Latest related analyses
Upcoming Events
There are no related events planned at the moment.
Related Resources
No records found.

Join our mailing list