>  Resources


IPC Chronic Food Insecurity Classification 2015

IPC Global Brief Series 2015
May 2015

The IPC is a set standardized protocols (tools & procedures) to classify the severity of food insecurity situations for evidence-based strategic decision-making. It provides information on the situation (How bad); the most affected geographical areas and populations within those areas (Where, Who and How many); the duration and timeframe (When), and the driving factors (Why).

After many years of use of the IPC approach to inform interventions with short-term objectives to address crisis situations, the IPC Chronic Food Insecurity Classification, also abbreviated as IPC-Chronic Classification*, has been developed to complement the IPC Acute Food Insecurity Classification and provides invaluable information for decision makers that focus on medium and long term objectives. It makes IPC an inclusive classification system to inform both crisis mitigation and prevention as well as structural and developmental policies and programs.

Thanks to over two years of preparation, piloting and development of different prototypes, the IPC Chronic Food Insecurity Classification key parameters, tools and procedures were launched in July 2014 and successively rolled out starting from September 2014 in 8 countries: Bangladesh, Burundi, El Salvador, Kenya, Nepal, Philippines, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. A lessons learning process is embedded in the roll-out to gather feedback and inputs from the 8 countries and refine the key parameters, tools and procedures.

A multi-partner technical working group including experts from EC-JRC, FAO, FEWS-NET, ICFI, WFP, USAID-FANTA, Save the Children, SICA-PRESANCA and the World Bank was crucial all along the development process in achieving the finalized parameters, tools and procedures, and engaging in the lesson learning process.

Related Documents

Filter resources by

Type of Resource
Area of Work
Publication Date
Main IPC Pub Series

Join our mailing list