Ipcinfo home

Map detail

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC): Current Acute Food Insecurity Overview Sept. 2015 -March 2016

01/09/2015 - 31/03/2016
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Synthesis of Results of 13th cycle of IPC Acute Food Insecurity Analysis

The 13th IPC acute food insecurity analysis in DRC covered the rural areas of North Kivu, South Kivu, Maniema, Central Kongo and former provinces of Orientale, Katanga and Equateur.


Key Highlights:

  • 7 territories in emergency situation for some localized areas (IPC Phase 4) in the provinces of Maniema (Punia), the former Katanga (Nyunzu and Manono), the former Eastern Province (South Irumu), North Kivu (Beni and Walikale) and South Kivu (Shabunda);
  • 6 territories classified in crisis (IPC Phase 3) and as well as some areas of 29 territories ;
  • 20 territories classified in stress (IPC Phase 2) ;
  • 3 provinces (former Bandundu, former Kasaï Occidental and former Kasaï Oriental) and 17 territories from different provinces were not classified because of lack of sufficient data.

As in previous IPC cycles, the areas in Emergency (IPC Phase 4) owe their classification mainly to armed conflicts and violence, which caused displacement of major population and seriously affected their livelihoods. In contrast, Punia zone (in Maniema territory) is observing deterioration of food security situation due to a combination of severe persistent structural problems and the spread of collateral effects of armed conflicts in neighbouring provinces.


In total, the number of people in acute food and livelihood crisis (Phases 3 and 4) is estimated at 4.5 million people in areas that have been classified. A decrease from the last IPC cycle is noted in the proportion of the population in crisis, although the difference in absolute terms is small; this is due to different reference bases used for the calculation of the total population in DRC.


Recommendations for response:

  • Continued systematic monitoring of the food security situation in areas in crisis or emergency.
  • Actions to save lives and prevent the collapse of livelihoods in Phase 4 areas (Maniema, ex-Katanga, ex-Eastern Province, North Kivu and South Kivu).
  • Emergency and recovery programs, tailored to the context of each Phase 3 area, to protect livelihoods, prevent malnutrition and prevent deaths by combining the / territory. Furthermore, these territories require multisectoral programs that transform significantly the economy of these regions and create wealth.
  • Immediate actions to gather more information for provinces that were unable to be unclassified during this present cycle: conducting surveys and including transition- and development-oriented actors in data solicitations.

Related Links

Food Security ClustersFEWS NETFAOThe Comité permanent Inter-Etats de Lutte contre la Sécheresse dans le Sahel (CILSS)CARE InternationalACF
The World Food Programme (WFP)unicefSICASave the ChildrenOxfamThe Joint research Center (JRC) of the European CommissionIGAD